UB wraps NCAA-S Season 24, nabs championship crown

News Archive

 Despite the volcanic smog that engulfed the Batangas province due to the low-level activity of the Taal Volcano, the University of Batangas (UB) pushed through the closing ceremony and turnover rites of the 24th season of the National Collegiate Athletic Association – South (NCAA-S)  held at the UB Millenium Gymnasium, October 9, 2023.

    Formally commemorating the end of the season, the closing ceremony was spearheaded by the UB President Lily Marlene J. Hernandez, and the latter part of the ceremony was the official declaration of the closing of the NCAA-S Season 24 by the UB Chairman of the Board of Regents Atty. Jesus V. Mayo.

    “I believe the main purpose of having NCAA is not to prove who is better in whatever sport, rather it is for us to learn from engaging with each other, the way towards strengthening solidarity. For us, school administrators, it is reaffirming our commitment to well-rounded development of our youth via the support we are providing our student athletes,” stated University President Hernandez.

     Out of eleven participating schools, only the Lyceum of the Philippines University– Batangas, Philippine Christian University- Dasmarinas, University of Perpetual Help System Laguna, TRACE College and UB have sent their athletes and delegates in the ceremony while the other six schools have sent their officials, coaches and representatives from the Management Committee to receive their awards and certificates of recognition.

    “Remember that we are not competitors in this arena, we are allies testing the mettle of each and every athlete, to prepare them personally and professionally for the future of their persons, families and institutions they represent,” said Atty. Mayo.

     Moreover, the UB Chorale performed a heartwarming performance followed by the announcement of the official results and the overall ranking of the eleven participating schools in the NCAA-S Season 25.

    In the NCAA-S senior’s division, UB clinched the overall championship for hauling six gold, two silver, and three bronze medals. Meanwhile, Brahmans from the junior division placed third on overall ranking upon bagging a gold and silver medal.

     Additionally, the University of Perpetual Help System Laguna (UPHSL) secured the second overall ranking of both seniors and juniors, with De La Salle Lipa (DLSL) coming in third for the seniors and overall champion for juniors division.

     In addition, the UB Brahman PEP Squad and UB Dance Company sparked the dance floor with their exciting intermission numbers, followed by the lowering of flags of the members of the NCAA-South.

     Officially ending its hosting duties, UB turned over the hosting rights of the upcoming 25th Season of NCAA-S to Emilio Aguinaldo College Cavite (EACC), as they prepare to embark on the challenge to host the new season.

     “It’s our 25th anniversary, silver anniversary for the NCAA-South so we’re making something special for the league,” shared Mr. Anthony C. Villadelgado, EACC Sports Development Office Director.

Text by: Zyrene Jessica Calingasan & Regina Mary Mercado (The Westernian Advocate)

Scroll to Top