Marocom makes it to top regional awardees of CALABARZONOS, qualifies for TOSP National

The search for the ten outstanding students of the Philippines is now on its 58th year while the regional search CALABARZONOS (CALABARZON Outstanding Students) is on its 10th. The awarding for the CALABARZON Region Leg of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines was held last August 21, 2019 at 9AM in the Lima Park Hotel. The whole regional search started last June when finalists were asked to submit their bidbooks and underwent screening. Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) is an awards program that recognizes the country’s remarkable students who do not only outshine in academics, but also devote themselves as outstanding individuals who create and contribute positive change in the community.

Among the twenty (20) eligible college students, ten (10) were chosen to represent CALABARZON for TOSP – National, where all contestants will be screened and be cut to finalists on the national level, from which the top ten national outstanding students will be awarded.

With much pride, University of Batangas’ very own, Dan Michael Sean Marocom, a civil engineering graduate made it to the roll of the top 10 regional awardees.

“The whole experience made me understand how important youth participation is to Nation Building and how the Philippines needs every little effort we can contribute to improve the lives of the unfortunate. And after meeting all of my inspiring batch mates and aIumni of the TOSP community, it is evident that the youth is still the hope and the future of our nation”, shared Marocom.

On the other hand, Bachelor of Secondary Education graduate, Raven Mendoza, also landed as one of the 20 qualifiers.

Once again, congratulations to the gentlemen! You indeed brought pride not only to the university, but to the whole province of Batangas.

In the photo: (from left to right) Mr. Dan Michael Sean Marocom, TOSP National Qualifier, Mrs. Anna Louisa Cauntay, UB Student Affairs and External Programs Director and Mr. Raven Mendoza, CALABARZONOS Qualifier